The Canada Foundation for Innovation - War on Science

Excerpt from Joyce Nelson's WS article, "Harper's War on Science"

Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for Science and Technology, has consistently defended the Harper government from accusations of a War on Science by emphasizing the $5.5 billion that the Feds have provided to the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), including another $225 million to the CFI in Economic Action Plan 2013 released on March 21.   

The CFI – the key decision-maker for all science funding in

Canada – has a governing body of 13 members, seven of whom are appointed by the Minister of Industry (Christian Paradis).

These members then select the other six members.  
This governing body then appoints seven of the 13 CFI Board of Directors, receives reports from the Board, appoints auditors, approves the Annual Report, sets strategic objectives and makes final decisions about what science projects will be funded, including at universities. According to the CFI website, the members are “similar to a company’s shareholders, but representing the Canadian public.”   

But a look at the CFI members indicates that it is a highly politicized body (including a founding trustee of the Fraser Institute) that is making the decisions about what science to support with its $5.5 billion in taxpayer dollars.

Co-Chair: David Fung – Chair and CEO of ACDEG Group; Chair of the China Committee at International Science & Technology Partnership Canada; Vice-chair of the Canada China Business Council; Member of the Strategy for Partnership and Innovation Committee of the Natural Sciences & Engineering Research Council (NSERC); Strategic Advisor of Cycle Capital Management Inc.; Investment Champion for the Canadian Dept. of Foreign Affairs & International Trade; Director of CentrePort Canada Inc.

Co-Chair: Roland Hosein – Vice-President of Environment, Health & Safety at General Electric Canada; Chair of the Institute for Work and Health; Member of the Expert Panel on Innovation at Natural Sciences & Engineering Research Council (NSERC)

Member: John Anthony Boeckh – President of Boeckh Investments Inc.; Founding Trustee of the Fraser Institute

Member: Harold Cook – Former Dean, Faculty of Medicine at Dalhousie University

Member: Sandra Greer – President and CEO of Vemco/Amirix Systems Inc.; Member of the Industrial Expansion Fund Advisory Panel of Nova Scotia

Member: Linda Humphreys – Vice-President of Corporate Affairs for Alberta Innovates

Member: Marie-Andree Mallette – Member of the Government of Canada Audit Committee at Treasury Board; Lawyer; Vice-President of Adnutrio International Ltd.; Director of FCC

Member: Rick Miner – Past President of Seneca College of Applied Arts and Technology

Member: Ron Morrison – President of RC Management; Member of the Canadian Industry Program for Energy Conservation Executive Board

Member: Heather Munroe-Blum – Principal and Vice-Chancellor of McGill University; Member of Science, Technology & Innovation Council (Industry Canada); Founder and Founding Director of Genome Canada

Member: Leigh Murphy – Professor at Department of Biochemistry and Medical Genetics and Senior Scientist at Manitoba Institute of Cell Biology, University of Manitoba

Member: Emoke J. E. Szathmary – President Emeritus and Vice-Chancellor at University of Manitoba

Member: Vianne Timmons – President and Vice-Chancellor at University of Regina

Watershed Sentinel Original Content

5 Issues/yr — $25 print; $15 digital